Vision behind maintaining an opensource Project in Hacktoberfest 2021?

Vision behind maintaining an opensource Project in Hacktoberfest 2021?

Let's deep dive into opensource, What is Opensource and how you can contribute and hack this October of 2021 to get the title of hacktoberfest

Β·

2 min read

image.png πŸš€ Open source is changing the world – one contribution at a time.

πŸ‘‰ What is Hacktoberfest?

Support open source throughout October! Hacktoberfest encourages participation in the open source community, which grows bigger every year. Complete the 2021 challenge and earn a limited edition T-shirt πŸ‘•

πŸ‘‰ How I participated as a Maintainer and what was my end goal behind maintaining "ComEve"?

Maintainers are the keystone of open source. This year’s Hacktoberfest has a new, added focus: empowering open source maintainers. Last year when I joined hacktoberfest, I was struggling to find the valid project and a maintainer, who can support me to getting started with hacktoberfest and guide me the things towards opensource, so that I can contribute and open my first pull request. So, my vision for maintaining a Community Events Platform Project by this Hacktoberfest is to support and guide new joiners who are willing to contribute, I opened everything in terms of issues and created basic issues and middle level issues, so that every level of joiner can contribute, sometimes I hookup the calls with joiners, I did the guidance calls with contributors from India and South Africa to give them a overall walk through. hacktoberfest-dev.png

⚑ Want to Contribute?

Github - ComEve

πŸ‘‰ What I have Learned as a Maintainer?

changing-managing-agents-top-10-considerations-before-choosing-the-right-path.jpg

  1. Volunteer and giving up personal time to create something of value for the world.
  2. Reviewing and Merging Pull Request
  3. Collaborations with Developers throughout the world.
  4. Maintain a project when you own a team.
  5. Be respectful and allow people to contribute in a way that makes the project better.
  6. Encourage developers however the pull request is buggy and production breaking ding, motivate them to fix and fly high as per terms of opensource.

πŸ‘‰ Now, Time to showcase Proud Contributors of Community Events Platform

hacktoberfest-dev-1.jpg

πŸ‘‰ Conclusion

If you have any questions make sure to check out the FAQ page here or reach out to me on Twitter: @developerorium

If you are a project maintainer share your project in the comments below! πŸ™Œ

Happy hacking, and good luck! β˜•

Β